Monday, December 11, 2006

What is Leukemia and Lymphoma?

Leukemia: The major forms of leukemia are divided into four categories. Myelogenous and lymphocytic leukemia each have acute and chronic forms. The terms myelogenous or lymphocytic denote the cell type involved.
Lymphoma: Lymphoma is a general term for a group of cancers that originate in the lymphatic system. The lymphomas are divided into two major categories: Hodgkin lymphoma and all other lymphomas, called non-Hodgkin lymphomas. The prefix "lymph-" indicates their origin in the malignant change of a lymphocyte and the suffix "-oma" is derived from the Greek suffix denoting "tumor." About 56 percent of the blood cancers that occur each year are lymphomas

Myeloma: An estimated 16,570 new cases of myeloma will be diagnosed in the United States in 2006. Myeloma may be called by several names, including plasma cell dyscrasia, plasma cell myeloma, myelomatosis and multiple myeloma. The major forms of myeloma are divided into categories, which allows the physician to decide what treatment works best for the particular type of disease.

No comments: